This is a continuation of our previous article covering the rules, locations, and FAQs regarding Maine state vehicle inspections. In this article, we’ll be covering a few more commonly asked questions.
Does Maine Require State Inspection?
Yes, all passenger vehicles in Maine must undergo an annual safety inspection. Maine will accept an out-of-state inspection sticker while it’s still valid if you’ve recently moved from another state. Inspections must be conducted by a licensed garage, service station, or automobile dealership.
What is the Cost of a Maine State Inspection?
The cost of a Maine state inspection at Berube’s Complete Auto Care is $12.50. If your vehicle fails inspection, there are additional costs for the repairs required in order to pass.
Does Maine Require a Vehicle Emissions Test and Smog Check?
No, the state of Maine does not require emissions testing or a smog check for passenger vehicles. However, there is one exception; residents of Cumberland County are required to pass a vehicle emissions test along with the standard state inspection.
Smog Check Exemptions for Cumberland County Drivers
If you live in Cumberland County, the following vehicles are exempt from having to pass an emissions test:
- Vehicles with less than 1,000 miles on them
- Motorcycles and mopeds
- Maine-registered antique vehicles
- Farm tractors
- Fish trucks
- Wood trucks
- Island vehicles
- Low-speed vehicles
- Experimental vehicles
- 1996 Subarus (all models)
- 1996-98 Mitsubishis (all models)
- 1996 Volvo 850 Turbo
- 1996 Chrysler Intrepid, Concord, New Yorker, LHS, Vision, Avenger, Sebring, Talan, Cirrus, Stratus, Breeze, Neon
- Ford medium-heavy-duty trucks made between 1996-2003 weighing more than 8,600 lbs.
Do Antique Cars Need a State Inspection in Maine?
According to Maine state law, antique vehicles are exempt from state inspection if they meet the following criteria:
- The vehicle is over 25 years old;
- It has been maintained in its original or restored condition;
- It is not being used as a primary mode of transportation;
- Its intended purpose is to be used for parades, exhibitions, and similar functions;
- It has been registered as an antique vehicle.
If you have an antique vehicle that meets the above qualifications, then you will not need to get it inspected.
How Long Does a Maine State Car Inspection Take?
Most inspections take less than 30 minutes for a vehicle that passes the state-issued requirements. The length of time required for your state inspection may vary depending on the business you choose and if your car needs any repairs.
At Berube’s Complete Auto Care, we pride ourselves on being quick and efficient so that you can get back on the road as soon as possible.
Just Ask Your Local Maine Mechanic
We hope these FAQs have helped answer your questions regarding Maine state vehicle inspections. If you have any additional questions or would like to schedule an inspection, please don’t hesitate to contact us at Berube’s Complete Auto Care. We’re always happy to help!
Get in touch with us: